Godly Women · Traditionalist Bird · Uncategorized

Let’s Bring People to Jesus by Calling them Trolls

On Lori’s post today there is this response to a comment:

You can buy it either way, Meg. If you buy it from me, you can say in your review on Amazon that you bought the book from me. I have sold many to the women in the chat room already who have or will review it. It matters not to me.

Yes, I have trolls giving me 1 star who I know have not read my book, but it’s in the Lord’s hands. I trust Him to do with my book as He wants! I warned my editor about them long before we put the book on Amazon and he is surprised at the depth of their meanness and lies. I am not. They hide behind their monikers and screens looking for “whom they can devour” (1 Peter 5:8), just as the enemy of our soul does. They need Jesus.

Do you think people want to seek Jesus when Christians and not any old Christians, but self-appointed godly  mentors, call people trolls. Whether there is merit to it or not, it certainly isn’t how you win people over to Christ.

That point aside, if her book is in the Lord’s hand why does she keep meddling in the comments? If one of her followers did that she would say it shows a lack of faith. Lori continues to think that if you don’t agree with her or don’t like her book you are mean. She has no idea what meanness really is. Mean is being nailed to the cross to die for speaking God’s truth.

28 thoughts on “Let’s Bring People to Jesus by Calling them Trolls

  1. Also, come to think of it, a lot of pretty tame online activities will look bad to people in real life or should not be shared with everybody in real life.

    If you’re an academic, your pro-Trump online activity may cause you trouble with getting jobs.

    If you are the mom of a special needs child, you may not feel comfortable talking about the details with your kids’ grandparents and extended family, but you may be more open with other special needs parents.

    There are lots of conversations that mommies have with each other that children shouldn’t be privy to (be it parenting issues or marriage or in-law stuff).

    Everybody doesn’t need to know everything. That’s what they call being “discreet” (that’s one of those Titus 2 things).

    Like

  2. As Stone quoted, Stephanie was encouraging contacting basically everybody in the negative reviewers’ life and sharing the reviewers’ online activity with them:

    “If these women’s husbands, children, and family, in-laws, employers, church members, pastors knew what they were doing with their free-time, it would bring down good consequences on them that may help them change in the longrun. God disciplines those He loves, and sometimes that comes in the form of earthly judgment/consequences for their sin.”

    That’s bad enough in toto, but consider just the kid thing. How creepy is that to even think about contacting the minor children (and if it’s a homeschooling mom, of course there are multiple minor children) to talk about the mom’s internet postings? How would one even go about doing that?

    People shouldn’t even be thinking of contacting total strangers’ minor children unless there is some sort of imminent deadly peril that the children need saving from. Low reviews on Amazon are not harassment–it’s just a fact of life for an author. My husband has one star reviews on Amazon from some very stupid people–I don’t spend my free time tracking them down, badgering their entire social circle and harassing their minor children. My husband would be mortified if I even considered that as an option.

    In Lori Alexander’s view, wives are not entitled to household help from their husbands, but a fortiori it’s even more the case that authors are not entitled to five star reviews.

    Like

  3. It sounds like a couple people intervened with their criticisms of doxxing and LA has backed off.

    I for one, am in agreement with Booky that mentioning CPS and the like is wrong, and I’ve personally known someone who had a “friend” who called CPS on her for disagreeing with her parenting style and the life of this mother was turned upside down.

    Like

  4. My quick take on all this is I don’t think we should judge what is CPS worthy among stories online, but I understand how its a fine line. I just don’t want to go there. I don’t recall anything about not having toilets, etc.

    “And no car? Why was a TX policeman’s family in this awful situation?”
    Maybe because money has gone towards gym membership (I recall reading that) and other things to keep the princess iced and in beach bod ready condition. Those things are more important than reliable transportation. OR even if its not the case and you have a crappy car, suck it up buttercup, that is the price for not working and being sahm.

    Like

  5. Booky said:

    “People used to do with a lot worse.”

    Yeah, and at least some of them would die, especially little kids.

    Like

  6. TPC said:

    “Argh, I am not “threatening her children”. I am saying that she has posted about leaving her kids stranded in Texas-hot weather and having no indoor toilet or kitchen facilities.”

    That is really bad.

    I’ll give her a pass on the indoor toilet (if there’s appropriate outhouse–but still pretty nasty in our heat) and the kitchen facilities (if there’s appropriate water supply and outdoor cooking facilities), but in our climate, you HAVE to have access to some form of reliable cooling.

    Some years back, we had a summer with 60+ days over 100 degrees. During the summer, the temperature first thing in the morning is already in the low 80s, so it’s not like WA–you can’t “stockpile” cool morning air and protect that bubble of coolness on a hot day–there is no morning coolness during the summer in TX, and the summer lasts roughly from May through late September (we’ve just recently stopped using our air conditioning). And it doesn’t top out at 100–as you can see from this map, the historical record highs go into the 110s for much of TX–hence the old crack out about how if the guy owned both hell and Texas, he would live in hell and rent out Texas:

    http://www.plantmaps.com/texas-record-high-and-low-temperature-map.php

    And no car? Why was a TX policeman’s family in this awful situation?

    This puts her interminable Proverbs 31 series in a completely different light.

    Like

  7. TPC, I didn’t mean to imply that you were threatening her, but it came across rather ominously. I do get your point that it’s a bit rich of her to go around talking about others when she has some issues herself. CPS may investigate for these things, but that doesn’t make those things necessarily a danger or “sub-optimal” parenting. People used to do with a lot worse.

    From what I’d read, she didn’t abandon her kids in the heat, but the car broke down. Perhaps I missed something; I don’t keep track of all this. Having a shitty old car isn’t a crime. But of course, she is actually saying criticizing Lori is a crime (or, “pretty criminal”, whatever that means) and inferring devious motivations with no evidence of such, not that devious motivations are criminal either, so, like you say, people in glass houses…

    Like

  8. Argh, I am not “threatening her children”. I am saying that she has posted about leaving her kids stranded in Texas-hot weather and having no indoor toilet or kitchen facilities. CPS does totally get called on people for things like that. Sucks, but that is the sort of thing they do care about. She also doesn’t know if anyone she knows IRL reads her blog and would find that level of parenting sub-optimal. So for someone in that position to sit around stalking some woman online and claiming that her stalking victim “isn’t looking after her children” is really some glass house level stuff.

    Like

  9. Please don’t read my comments as a defense of Stephanie/Dragonfly. Her threats and willingness to use whatever privileges she has to get back at someone she feels has slighted her is an absolute disgrace, no doubt. But that doesn’t justify what amounts to threatening her children. As I said, maybe I’m wrong, but I doubt she is a threat to her children, how ever vile she may be in other ways and however much fun online lynch mobs may be. Point me to the evidence if there is any.

    Like

  10. Maea said,

    “I think it’s a bigger concern that her husband is a cop, and she’s making threats against another person to “expose” them. How does that make policing look? Is she entitled to do policework because her husband is a cop?

    “I’m disturbed by the fact she knows the color of their vehicle because she went that far to locate the reviewer’s home…”

    Yeah, I don’t like the idea of a cop’s wife threatening people on the internet with exposure. That makes her husband look bad.

    The van thing is actually funny to me because I have a white van, too! And judging by how hard it is to find mine in a parking lot, lots of other people do, too!

    Like

  11. I think it’s a bigger concern that her husband is a cop, and she’s making threats against another person to “expose” them. How does that make policing look? Is she entitled to do policework because her husband is a cop?

    I’m disturbed by the fact she knows the color of their vehicle because she went that far to locate the reviewer’s home…

    Like

  12. Although I’m not an avid reader of her blog, I haven’t seen anything that terrible. I don’t consider much to be worthy of a report to CPS, and more children and families are harmed than saved by them.

    With no evidence other than a comment, I assume there is nothing, since that is more often than not the case, especially where there are other issues going on with threats and counter threats. I would only call CPS extremely reluctantly, and it’s not a threat to throw around lightly, that’s all. It’s possible I’m wrong, but without evidence that I’m aware of, I’ll stick with my pronouncement that it’s a low blow.

    Like

  13. Booky said:

    “No matter how nasty the person in question, veiled threats involving her children are very low.”

    Well, Stephanie either has CPS-worthy stuff on her blog or she doesn’t.

    If she doesn’t, then TPC would be doing a very bad thing by saying so.

    But, if Stephanie has CPS-worthy stuff on her blog, she may be the one who is a threat to her children, not CPS.

    So, it all depends what is or isn’t on that blog. I don’t think I’d bet against TPC in this particular situation.

    Like

  14. No matter how nasty the person in question, veiled threats involving her children are very low. Let’s not stoop to that level.

    Like

  15. I would think having a cop husband should be cause for a woman behave like an upstanding citizen. Cops are not highly looked at for various reasons in this day and age, and to go online and publicly share first names, pictures, and the husband’s occupation as a cop is bold.

    Like

  16. Stone said,

    “These women keep saying how they will leave this in “God’s capable hands”. They say that often in different forms. But they keep meddling, they won’t let it go, they can’t just leave someone they disagree with alone.”

    Yep.

    Like

  17. Stone, would you consider making that exchange a full post?

    I think Lori Alexander probably isn’t fully responsible for her actions because of brain damage from her tumor, but what’s Stephanie’s excuse? Or heck, what’s Ken Alexander’s excuse?

    And this is all over the sin of not giving LA a five-star review and not understanding her book exactly the way she understands her book. There’s no “slander” or “libel” here at all.

    “Mary Ann,” if you find yourself here, I’ve actually taken a journalism law class (back when dinosaurs roamed the land) and you are legally 110% in the clear. The only danger (if I can use the word “only” in this situation) is extra-legal retaliation.

    The Golden Rule, people–learn it, love it, live it.

    Like

  18. These women keep saying how they will leave this in “God’s capable hands”. They say that often in different forms. But they keep meddling, they won’t let it go, they can’t just leave someone they disagree with alone. They can’t just truly leave all this up to God. Now Lori wants to call this negative reviewer and I guess give her a godly lecture. Its so intrusive. In the same sentence of saying they will leave it in God’s hands, they also want to call this person. How is that leaving it in his hands? This suggest that they think they are God.

    Like

  19. I doesn’t matter though does it, when you have a cop husband? She can go around bullying people all day and hide behind him. I am absolutely disgusted with what I am seeing it. I don’t really have the full words for it right now. This from a woman who accused me of doxxing.

    Lori is just as gleeful! She was so eager to get the person’s name. All over a negative review, they want to ruin this person’s life and even see it reasonable to be fired over this (if the person has a job).

    Here are the full comments we are talking about for anyone following. Keep in mind these are the women who call themselves godly and virtuous and set themselves up to be role models to young women.

    https://thetransformedwife.com/the-time-i-was-never-nearly-raped/#comments

    Stephanie says:
    November 1, 2016 at 6:36 pm
    Interesting Lori, it’s amazing to me (much in the way it is for your editor probably) how awful these trolls are in slandering you. I’ve read about cases where it was possible for lawyers to find out who these people are, and go after them with a lawsuit. I’ve even heard of public figures being able to get the troll fired from their job for their “extracurricular activities,” and expose them to their community. It sounds harsh, but it’s actually good and needed for them to stop living a double life where they try to ruin innocent people’s reputations online secretly, while being the nice, Christian, homeschooling mom with 6 kids that teaches at women at church at the same time.

    If these women’s husbands, children, and family, in-laws, employers, church members, pastors knew what they were doing with their free-time, it would bring down good consequences on them that may help them change in the longrun. God disciplines those He loves, and sometimes that comes in the form of earthly judgment/consequences for their sin.

    If it gets worse, you may want to contact a good lawyer. I know one of your review trolls I actually recognized – she has commented before around the internet and is a professing devout Christian woman. She’s emailed me before using her real name, from which I was able to find all online her address, church, pastor, and even photos of her white van and house!! Nutty and scary that they believe they’re so anonymous, but leave all this info out while they go around lashing out at others!

    Anyway, I wonder when it truly becomes “libel” instead of just “slander?” You may want to look into it if it gets worse.

    Reply
    Lori Alexander says:
    November 1, 2016 at 6:57 pm
    Can you email me her name, Stephanie? I sure would appreciate it! Oh, and thank you for your comment and support.

    Reply
    Stephanie says:
    November 1, 2016 at 6:41 pm
    The reviewer I recognized due to her internet footprint, is “Mary Ann” (not her real name). If you need her real information and would like to report her as an official internet troll committing libel I can email you all her information.

    God was never against this kind of justice, in fact He frequently warns His people to be aware that they will have earthly consequences for mocking and insulting and especially slandering others. The Bible says I think in a few places that what is done in secret will always come to the light (much to the perpetrator’s misery and demise!). What someone intends to be hidden will come back to haunt them.

    Reply
    Stephanie says:
    November 1, 2016 at 6:53 pm
    Oh my I just saw that this same person “Mary Ann” is continuing to slander you in the reviews and reference this post! How does she have so much free time on her hands with 6 home-schooled children I have no idea!? Seriously Lori, this woman that’s slandering and attacking you and possibly making up more fake names to review your book (I’ve counted 3 that I’ve seen she goes by currently), while her SIX children are missing her attention. Wow!

    She’s threatened and attacked me on my blog as well, to which I reminded her that I have all her information and am not against exposing her to her community. She left me alone after that.

    Reply
    Lori Alexander says:
    November 1, 2016 at 6:59 pm
    I think I know who she is. She has been commenting on my blog for years and is always contrary to what I teach. Yes, please email me her name at laalex2@aol.com.

    Like

  20. I don’t know if LA or Stephanie is aware of this, but doxxing people is illegal. t’s one thing for certain pieces of information to be public, such as phone records, but compiling someone’s private info and then disseminating it on the internet can invoke federal laws(!). The laws can extend to multiple states because of the accessibility of the internet. I find it disturbing that dragonfly/Stephanie seems gleeful at the prospect of causing the reviewer harm.

    Like

  21. Dragonfly should really shut her mouth. She’s egging people on and it’s bold of her, considering she too uses her real name and posts pictures of herself.

    Like

  22. I have yet to hear her denounce that type of horrific suffering endured by women AND men! She went on quoting Michael Pearl sneering at those who endure suffering as coming from the hand of God and receiving it as a gift for their greater good; I’ll bet Michael Pearl would NEVER be able to endure the situation in Iraq and Syria that’s been endured by our brothers and sisters there.

    Like

  23. Mean is being hauled out to an ISIS firing squad or being burned alive in a cage by the same folks like that poor man in Jordan that probably everyone has forgotten about by now. You want suffering…

    Like

Leave a Reply

