Godly Women · Traditionalist Bird

In My Own Little Corner

“a woman may go to her father’s house to visit him, and to the house of mourning, and to the house of feasting, to return a kindness to her friends, or to her near relations–but it is a reproach to a woman to go out daily; now she is without, now she is in the streets; and a husband ought to restrain his wife from it, and not suffer her to go abroad but about once a month, or twice a month, upon necessity; for there is nothing more beautiful for a woman, than to abide in the corner of her house; for so it is written, Psalm 45:13 ‘the king’s daughter is all glorious within’.”

http://biblehub.com/commentaries/titus/2-5.htm

Reminds me of this song from Cinderella. Apparently this his how Chrisitian women should live–in a corner with only their day dreams and imagination. Suffering in silence isn’t so bad when you have a corner to escape to or in some cases a blog where you can be whatever you want to be.

[Verse 1]
I’m as mild and as meek as a mouse
When I hear a command I obey.
But I know of a spot in my house
Where no one can stand in my way.

[Verse 2]
In my own little corner in my own little chair
I can be whatever I want to be.
On the wings of my fancy I can fly anywhere
And the world will open it’s arms to me.

[Verse 3]
I’m a young Norwegian princess or a milkmaid
I’m the greatest prima donna in Milan
I’m an heiress who has always had her silk made
By her own flock of silkworms in Japan
I’m a girl men go mad for
Love’s a game I can play with a cool and confident kind of air.

[Bridge]
Just as long as I stay in my own little corner
All alone in my own little chair.
I can be whatever I want to be.

[Verse 4]
I’m a thief from Calcutta I’m a queen in Peru.
I’m a mermaid dancing upon the sea
I’m a huntress on an African safari…
It’s a dangerous type of sport and yet it’s fun
In the night I sally forth to seek my quarry
And I find I forgot to bring my gun.

[Outro]
I am lost in the jungle all alone and unarmed
When I meet a lioness in her lair
Then I’m glad to be back in my own little corner,
All alone in my own little chair.

 

3 thoughts on “In My Own Little Corner

Leave a Reply

