Godly Women · Traditionalist Bird

Deceived Women Teaching Deceived Women

If women are so easily deceived why is it older women are entrusted to teach younger women? I know, because the bible says so, but if thought about it is actually quite funny. Its OK to be deceived and teach women your deceived views, just don’t teach those deceived views to men.  Does that menopause just kick in and all of a sudden older ladies are free from deception?!  Seriously, isn’t this how feminism grew and continues to grow–women teaching women. Women teaching women deceived ideas about their nature to other women. Yet self-appointed godly women teach other women and its assumed no deception must be going on by virtue that she is simply “older”, yet older does not change her sex. She is still a woman and still the more easily deceived one. I suppose the answer would be if what she teaches matches up to the bible, such as teaching women to love their husbands, there is no deception there, yet if that is the case then why she can’t teach men using the same line of reasoning?

Older women or those far removed from the child-rearing days do seem to forget or lack empathy of what it is like to be in the heat of it all. Our brains do have a tendency to remember things a certain way, how we want to remember them, rather than how it actually happened. Are older godly women deceived into remembering their child-rearing days in such a way and then dispense advice from those deceived memories?

If all women are really all deceived and based on the bible I don’t see any other way to segment out certain groups of women as not being deceived, so what you have in Christian women’s groups is deceived older women teaching deceived younger women. Sounds fun! Clearly, much better than feminism.

11 thoughts on “Deceived Women Teaching Deceived Women

  1. That’s the thing, if you don’t consistently follow, you get just a snapshot of that person. For instance, Lori’s post today–completely agree with. If you just tuned in on those days, she doesn’t seem bad at all.

    Like

  2. There’s a large family mom on a public forum I am a long-term member of that is a very interesting example of this kind of lack of self-awareness. (Apologies for using the term “self-awareness”–but it is totally accurate in this case.)

    This mom toggles back and forth (sometimes literally within days) between 1) It’s so easy having a large family on a small income if you have a good attitude and are efficient and frugal/suck it up buttercup/if you’re having any problems it’s because you aren’t holy enough and 2) I SUFFER SO MUCH!!!!

    It’s like the two versions of the same mom are totally unaware of each other. I think a lot of long-time forum members are onto her, but I think she still manages to take in new people, the naive, and/or Kool Aid drinkers who want to believe.

    It’s very misleading if you only catch her on her “good” days.

    Like

  3. And that is thousands of diapers per each kid and Lori had 4, but see a good example of sketchy memory. She had a nanny, so for her it was probably only hundreds.

    Like

  4. In case anybody missed it, LA recently had her grandkids:

    “My grandchildren were here this past weekend. Their parents needed a break so we had the three young ones for 24 hours. It was hard because Ken and I are not young anymore but we loved it! Hard isn’t bad. It’s just hard but worth it. Yes, I had to change diapers, feed them over and over again, teach them about Jesus, clean up, pick up, and scrub. The. Same. Old. Thing.”

    From the beginning of the piece:

    “Stay-at-home mother. Faithful, submissive wife. Homemaker. It’s the Same. Old. Thing. for many of us. We wash dishes over and over again. We’ve changed hundreds of diapers, rocked sick babies, fixed another meal, vacuumed another carpet, shopped for healthy food, cleaned another toilet, and on and on the list goes. The. Same. Old. Thing.”

    https://thetransformedwife.com/the-same-old-thing/

    Hundreds of diapers?

    HA HA HA HA!

    You get into the thousands without even trying. 365 X 6 (and I’m being very conservative)=2190 over the course of a single year.

    I’ve had kids in diapers from summer 2002 to summer 2009 and then from fall 2012 to the present–so I’ve basically got my own small landfill out there somewhere.

    Like

  5. I feel like Lori Alexander is a very special person in terms of complete obliviousness to the fact that she has never done 90% of what she is asking other women to do. In fact, she’d probably be dead long ago if she’d taken her own medical advice.

    Like

  6. That is funny, Amy. I was just thinking of a shirt like the “I can’t adult today” ones that says “I can’t Titus 2 today”.

    I agree with seeing is believing which is why its so hard for me to take the “stories” of stranger women online. I suppose those you are suppose to take the older woman stories on faith just like the rest of Christianity, but yet I know women too well. With such a tendency to embellish, tell tall tales, and things like conveniently forget they had a nanny (while telling others they shouldn’t have a nanny) it really is hard.

    Like

  7. I think seeing is believing. I don’t care how amazing some older woman says she was. Can she DO it now? Or is it just fish stories?

    This.

    Personally, when I get older I don’t know if I’ll have any inclination to “Titus 2” other women. Based on what I have seen now from other women who believe they can Titus 2, I am skeptical. Even after nearly a decade of marriage, I realize there is so much more to learn and I still have a lot of growth to do. I sincerely doubt having children and another decade of marriage is going to make me believe I know more– rather, that there’s still a lot I don’t know.

    Like

  8. Stone said:

    “Older women or those far removed from the child-rearing days do seem to forget or lack empathy of what it is like to be in the heat of it all. Our brains do have a tendency to remember things a certain way, how we want to remember them, rather than how it actually happened. Are older godly women deceived into remembering their child-rearing days in such a way and then dispense advice from those deceived memories?”

    Lori Alexander is (thanks be to God) pretty unique.

    I think a lot of older ladies do say, “My kids NEVER did that!” when, truth be told, they totally did. However, I have to put in a plug for older ladies, especially when you can see them doing the stuff they talk about.

    For example, a couple years ago, my frail late 80-something grandma came for a short visit. I remember grandma as being MAGICAL when I used to visit her as a child when she was a young 50-something grandma (although I do recall her losing her cool when she had 2 or 3 of us for multi-day visits or–heaven help us–our whole family living with them for weeks). But one-on-one for short visits, she was amazing. It was very interesting to get to watch grandma with my toddler as an actual experienced adult. My toddler was suspicious of her great-grandma, but instead of just grabbing the toddler, grandma was very patient about letting the toddler warm up to her and was rather clever with coaxing the toddler with a toy. It was masterful.

    It’s quite likely that grandma wasn’t quite as savvy as a young mom of three closely spaced children back in the late 1940s/early 1950s, but at some point experience and native intelligence came together to make Super Grandma. I spent a lot of time with her as a little kid (I was the first grandchild) and I don’t think she ever spanked me–or at least I can’t remember that ever happening. But I do remember VERY much wanting to please grandma–she was very good at motivation. Now that I’ve read quite a lot on positive reinforcement, I have even more respect for her talents.

    I think seeing is believing. I don’t care how amazing some older woman says she was. Can she DO it now? Or is it just fish stories?

    Like

  9. If I remember correctly, it says that women “are more easily deceived,” not that they necessarily ALL ARE deceived. Lemme check.

    Ok, in 1 Timothy chapter 2. She is not allowed to teach or have authority over a man (and I believe these go hand in hand–as in, a woman sharing a testimony or stating truths of God in front of the congregation would be fine, but a woman being in a position of authority over a man in her teaching–like, being the normal, regular, consistent teacher of a grown man and obviously not a child) and this is first, because God has hierarchy in his creation, illustrated in that he made Adam first, and second, because the woman was the first one to be deceived. I take this to mean that it is more likely or easier for a woman to be deceived–not that they are, by default, all deceived, ha ha.

    The teaching younger women part is in Titus, and it instructs right there what they are supposed to be teaching the younger women, (“teach what is good”) specifically, which would mean that if they’re teaching those things, they aren’t deceiving the younger women, and also, if they have a man in authority over them, that hopefully the men would be able to get the women in line if they are deceived. Also, this is instruction for the way things ought to be, not the way they are, and CLEARLY I do not think this is the way things pan out or have been for who knows how long! Paul then has a lot more instruction for how Timothy and obviously other men in teaching positions ought to teach. All kinds of specific details, in fact. So it seems like Paul was doing his best to leave no room for deception to sneak in or faulty teaching, and to ensure that the correct things were being taught.

    Don’t know if that helps, but that’s my take on it! Unfortunately, there is a dearth of older godly women around to teach us younger ladies. I have had to dismiss the idea of a woman speaking into my life numerous times because I have been able to see that she would teach me things that were wrong or misguided. Some things I look for are: 1) Does her marriage look like what is laid out here, in the Bible? Is there a loveliness to their marriage that stands out? Or does she make him look like less than her, take charge over him, etc? I’ve seen this a LOT. 2) Would she rebuke me when I need it in a loving way or act like a know-it-all and rebuke in a hurtful manner, or would she just tell me what I want to hear? 3) Does she reference Scripture in her assertions or does she just spout of something she heard on Oprah or read in some magazine? 4) Does she give humble examples of her struggles in her marriage and how difficult it is to follow through with what the Bible says, or does she ignore certain parts of it she doesn’t want to admit she’s not living up to or act like it’s so easy to be a godly woman? I.e., yeah, we’re all hypocrites, but is she aware of her own hypocrisy?

    I know enough now to know what women are actually going to be helpful and which are not. Many I’ve been around have been covert feminists, too. Ha ha One of my favorite women who used to speak into my life was a former drug addict, had an affair in her second marriage, has lost one of her children to a terrible lifestyle, experienced debilitating depression, and still clings to God. She lives hours away now and I hardly ever get to talk to her, but when I do, she still exhibits all of the things I listed above. I sure miss that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

